Urania – The Astrologer’s Muse

urania-goddess-960x539

Today I have the Asteroid Goddess Urania, Muse of Astrology, highlighted in my chart.  In my natal chart, she sits on my Sun.  The Sun and Earth today line up to shine down directly on my Earth and Sun also shining on Urania.  She is one of my profound mythological partners in my world of astrological learning and experiences.  I want to share a little bit of her with you!

In Greek mythology, Urania (the word stems from the Greek word for “heavenly” or “of heaven”) is the Muse of Astronomy and Astrology.  She is usually shown in her drawings wearing robes with stars and planets adorning them and having a globe in her left hand.  She claims as her own the well of the “infinite night sky.”  She is known for being able to foretell the future by the arrangement of the stars.  She can see the cosmic patterns and knows how they are reflected in our everyday lives. She is often associated with “universal love.”  She keeps her eyes and attention focused on the heavens.  She gravitates to those who are most concerned with philosophy, with abstract thought, with the never ending wonders of the study of Astrology!

In astronomical terms, she was the 30th asteroid to be discovered in July of 1854.  Her rotational orbit around the Sun is 3.6 years.  She has many sparkling facets to share with us:

  • serious minded, always inspired and inspiring her students
  • love of science and mastery of mathematics
  • explores the reasons behind events
  • music theory is one of her talents
  • those instructed by her are raised aloft to heaven
  • power of imagination and thought
  • abstract and symbolic knowledge
  • ability to extrapolate principles and relevant data from a mass of facts
  • foretell future by arrangement of the stars
  • conceptualize and comprehend
  • find deep meaning in each experience

Urania, a few days ago, entered Pisces.  She helped usher Mars into Pisces this morning. My astrotweet today:  “Mars swims gently into Pisces and will stay there until 2-20-15.  Your inner artist, your peacemaker, and your spiritual knowing bloom!” 

Urania will see Mars through his Pisces sojourn and follow him into Aries on 3-5-15.  While they travel together in Pisces, our Astrologer’s Muse, Urania, will help us all tap into our Mars will power and open the doors to the power of the mind, our ability to reason, to learn, and to connect our earthly duties with our heavenly plan.

The Sabian Symbol  (from Dane Rudhyar’s An Astrological Mandala) for Urania and Mars transition into Pisces reads “Deeply rooted in the past of a very ancient culture, a spiritual brotherhood (and sisterhood) in which many individual minds are merged into the glowing light of a unanimous consciousness is revealed to one who has emerged successfully from metamorphosis.” Rudhyar’s Keynote: The ability for the person with an open mind and a deep feeling for self-transcendence to come in contact with higher forms of existence.

Urania, our personal Astrologer’s Muse, is speaking to us now in Piscean water whispers, intuitional feelings, knowings with no questioning, and through our understanding of Astrology.

Listen, listen to HER SONG!

Nikki

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Urania – The Astrologer’s Muse

  1. Audria Gebhardt says:

    Hi Nikki…As I was reading this, I saw myself as a young girl when I used to sit at the window at night, look up at the stars and ask them for information, help etc. I was destined to become a student of astrology. I welcome the muse. In fact I was thinking about it when you were speaking about what happened to us in 2012 because something did happen to me then. Today I realized something changed in 2012 possibly due to something else that changed in my life that year. Now I can consciously release the something that happened then that started creating a block in me.

    Like

Leave a comment